Socialist Worker

Who’s who in Iran

Issue No. 2157

  • Ayatollah Khomeini – Cleric who rose to power in the 1979 revolution. Supreme leader until his death in 1989.
  • Ali Khamenei – A key figure in the revolution and Iran’s president from 1981-9. He became supreme leader following Khomeini’s death.
  • Mahmoud Ahmadinejad – Won the 2005 elections, and was declared winner of the 2009 elections. He rose through the ranks of the Revolutionary Guards during the war with Iraq.
  • Mohammad Khatami – Considered the figurehead of the reform movement. Won the 1997 presidential elections and was re-elected in 2001. Although popular, he is widely seen as failing to push through reforms.
  • Mir Hussein Mousavi – Prime minister 1981-9, now associated with the reform movement. His failure to win the recent presidential election sparked the protests.
  • Hashemi Rafsanjani – Closely associated with the elite business class. Was president from 1989-97. He lost the 2005 elections. Although a conservative, he is backing the reformists in a power struggle.

If you enjoy Socialist Worker, please consider giving to our annual appeal to make sure we can maintain and develop our online and print versions of Socialist Worker. Go here for details and to donate.

Mobile users! Don't forget to add Socialist Worker to your home screen.