Socialist Worker

Vote starts for National Union of Teachers executive

Issue No. 2191

Voting has begun for the NUT’s national executive committee.

The elections are a chance for teachers to elect an executive that will lead a fightback against cuts and other attacks.

Several members of the Socialist Teachers’ Alliance and other left wing candidates are standing.

Candidates backed by Socialist Worker supporters include:

  • District 8: Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan: Helen Andrews, Nick Wigmore.
  • District 10: City of Derby, Derbyshire, Nottingham City, Nottinghamshire: Liam Conway.
  • District 13: Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Solihull, Walsall, Sandwell, Wolverhampton: Roger King, Tony Tonks.
  • District 22: Bath, Radstock & North East Somerset, Bristol, North Somerset, South Gloucestershire, Swindon, Wiltshire: Anne Lemon.
  • District 25: Wales: Mary Compton.
  • District 26: Inner London: Alex Kenny, Sara Tomlinson.
  • District 27: Outer London: Nick Grant, Dave Harvey, Dominic Byrne, Marilyn Bater.
  • Black Members: Betty Joseph.

If you enjoy Socialist Worker, please consider giving to our annual appeal to make sure we can maintain and develop our online and print versions of Socialist Worker. Go here for details and to donate.

Article information

Tue 2 Mar 2010, 18:07 GMT
Issue No. 2191
Share this article


Mobile users! Don't forget to add Socialist Worker to your home screen.