Socialist Worker

Left slate to stand in Unison election

Issue No. 2247

Voting has begun in the elections for the Unison union’s national executive council.

The left is standing 39 candidates for the various regional and service group seats. This is an important opportunity for left wingers to make a stand for a fighting, democratic union.

Three left candidates have been elected unopposed: Mike Tucker in the south east region, Max Watson in higher education and John Jones in the water, environment and transport service group.

Regional seats

Eastern region
Male seat: Martin Booth

East Midlands region
Female seats (2 votes): Jean Thorpe, Sharon Vasselin
Male seat: Richard Buckwell

Greater London region
Female seats (2 votes): Marshajane Thompson, Helen Davies
Male seat: Jon Rogers
Reserved seat: Emilse Ocampo Medina

Northern region
Female seat: Hannah Walter
Male seat: Dave Walkden

North West region
General seat: Tony Wilson
Female seats (2 votes): Bernadette Gallagher, Karen Reissmann
Male seat: Roger Bannister

Male seat: Duncan Smith

South East region
Female seats (2 votes): Diana Leach, Emma McBeth

South West region
Male seat: Nigel Behan

West Midlands region
Female seat: Vez Kirkpatrick
Male seat: Clive Shakespeare

Yorkshire region
General seat: Mike Forster
Female seats (2 votes): Angie Wallor, Helen Jenner
Male seat: Jim Board
Reserved seat: Vicky Perrin

Service group seats

Male seat: Dave Kuivala

General seat: John Malcolm
Female seat: Kate Ahrens
Male seat: Len Hockey

Higher education
Female seat: Carole Hanson

Local government
General seat: Paul Holmes
Female seats (2 votes): Kathy Smith, Phoebe Watkins
Male seat: Paul Couchman

Black members seats
Female seats (2 votes): F. Bola George, April Ashley
Male seat: Hugo Pierre

Young members seat
Kieran Grogan

Click here to subscribe to our daily morning email newsletter 'Breakfast in red'

Article information

Tue 12 Apr 2011, 18:33 BST
Issue No. 2247
Share this article


Mobile users! Don't forget to add Socialist Worker to your home screen.