Socialist Worker

Vote for socialists in NUT elections

by Paul McGarr
Issue No. 2492

Voting to elect the national executive of the National Union of Teachers (NUT) starts this week.

The executive is elected from 27 districts plus reserved seats for Black, Disabled and LGBT+ members. Unfortunately in 18 districts there are no contested elections.

In some areas there are multi-seat elections where people often stand as part of a slate. Socialist Worker supporters standing in elections are:

  • District 9: Debs Gwyn
  • District 10: Sheena Wheatley
  • District 22: Anne Lemon
  • District 26: Jess Edwards on a slate with Alex Kenny.
  • District 27: Stefan Simms on a slate with Dave Harvey, Dominic Byrne and Marilyn Bater.

Voting closes on Wednesday 16 March, with the new executive taking office for two years from the close of NUT conference at Easter.

This year will also see general secretary Christine Blower retire. Socialist Worker supporters back current deputy general secretary Kevin Courtney in the election to succeed her.




Click here to subscribe to our daily morning email newsletter 'Breakfast in red'

Mobile users! Don't forget to add Socialist Worker to your home screen.