Downloading PDF. Please wait... Issue 2349

A left challenge to Unison leadership

This article is over 11 years, 3 months old
Issue 2349


The Unison union is set to hold its NEC elections from 22 April to 24 May.

A London launch meeting for the left candidates was set to take place on Tuesday of this week.

Socialist Worker is calling for a vote for the following candidates:

National black members seats

Female seats
April Ashley
Monique Hirst 

Male seat
Hugo Pierre

National young members seat
Greta Holmes


East Midlands region

Male Seat
Adrian Picton

Female seat
Jean Thorpe

Greater London region

Female seats
Helen Davies
Marshajane Thompson

Male seat
Jon Rogers

Reserved seat
Gundi Seidel 

North West region

General seat
Tony Wilson

Female seats
Bernadette Gallagher
Karen Reissmann

Male seat
Roger Bannister

Scotland region

General seat
Duncan Smith

Male seat
Jim McFarlane

South East region

Male Seat
Paul Couchman

Female seats
Jacqui Berry
Diana Leach

South West region

Male seat
Berny Parkes

Cymru/Wales region

Male seat
Jamie Davis

West Midlands region

Male seat
Dave Auger 

Yorkshire & Humberside region

Female seat
Helen Jenner has been elected unopposed

Male seat
Mike Forster 

Reserved seat
Vicki Perrin has been elected unopposed


Health care service group

Female seats
Helen Ridett
Suzy Franklin 

Male seat
Mark Boothroyd

General seat
Gary Freeman

Higher Education service group

Female seat
Tomasa Bullen

General seat
Max Watson has been elected unopposed

Local Government service group

Female seats
Phoebe Watkins
Sonya Howard

Male seat
Glenn Kelly 

General seat
Paul Holmes

Water, Environment and Transport service group
John Jones

Community service group 

Female seat
Janet Bryan


Sign up for our daily email update ‘Breakfast in Red’

Latest News

Make a donation to Socialist Worker

Help fund the resistance